Home page Pages en Franšais    
Deutsche Seiten 
| Main page | Tour programme | Picture galleries | Tour organisation| News| Links | Contact |

Go to picture
Previous<<   >>Next

Eggeli and Wellenberg

Eggeli and Wellenberg

The hillock that is in the centre of the image has cause a lot of ink to flow some years ago.

Indeed, it is in the marls of this mountain that the weakly radioactive waste of the Swiss nuclear power stations should have been stored. The local population showed a very fierce opposition to this project. During a popular voting, the project had definitively been rejected.

To cap it all, a short time later, the most wildly opposed to the deposit of nuclear waste canton of Nidwald, had also been among the most opposed for the continuation of the moratorium on nuclear power stations.

This mountain separates the valley of Engelberg from that of Oberrickenbach. A magnificent path enables the crossing of the hill of the foreground. This passage is called Eggeli. It enables to reach Oberrickenbach from Grafenort.

In the background, one sees the summit of Stanserhorn. It is on the bare part of this summit that cable railway arrives. Before the 1970 fire of the Stanserhorn hotel, two sections of funiculars enabled to climb easily to this top. During renovation, the second section was replaced by a cable railway. A part of the old machinery of the funicular is always visible at the top.

Go to the gallery of the picture

The pictures may be copied at one's discretion as long as they are used for non-commercial purposes. Should they be exhibited in some way, please mention the author (Charles Lehmann) and the website.

Last update: June 16th, 2019

Page d'accueil English pages    
Deutsche Seiten 
| Page principale | Programme des randonnées | Galeries d'images | Organisation des randonnées| News| Liens | Contact |

Aller vers l'image
Précédente<<  >>Suivante 

L'Eggeli et le Wellenberg

L'Eggeli et le Wellenberg

Le monticule se trouvant au centre de l'image a fait passablement couler d'encre il y a quelques années.

En effet, c'est dans les marnes de cette montagne qu'auraient dû être stockés les déchets faiblement radioactifs des centrales nucléaires suisses. La population locale avait montré une très farouche opposition à ce projet. Lors d'une votation populaire, le projet avait été définitivement rejeté.

Le comble de l'ironie est que, peu de temps après, le canton de Nidwald, le plus farouchement opposé au dépôt de déchets nucléaires, avait aussi été parmi les plus opposé au prolongement du moratoire sur les centrales nucléaires.

Cette montagne sépare la vallée d'Engelberg de celle d'Oberrickenbach. Un magnifique sentier permet le franchissement de la croupe du premier plan. Ce passage s'appelle l'Eggeli. Il permet de rejoindre Oberrickenbach depuis Grafenort.

En arrière-plan, on distingue le sommet du Stanserhorn. C'est sur la partie glabre de ce sommet qu'arrive le téléphérique. Avant l'incendie de 1970 de l'hôtel du Stanserhorn, deux sections de funiculaires permettait de monter facilement sur ce sommet. La deuxième section a été remplacée par un téléphérique lors de la rénovation. Une partie de l'ancienne machinerie du funiculaire est toujours visible au sommet.

Aller vers la galerie de l'image

Les images peuvent être copiées à discrétion pour autant qu'elles ne servent pas à des fins commerciales. Si elles devaient êtres présentées sous quelle forme que ce soit, prière de mentionner l'auteur (Charles Lehmann) et le site Web.

Last update: December 25th, 2014