Home page Pages en Franšais    
Deutsche Seiten 
| Main page | Tour programme | Picture galleries | Tour organisation| News| Links | Contact |

Go to picture
Previous<<   >>Next

Eggeli and Wellenberg

Eggeli and Wellenberg

The hillock that is in the centre of the image has cause a lot of ink to flow some years ago.

Indeed, it is in the marls of this mountain that the weakly radioactive waste of the Swiss nuclear power stations should have been stored. The local population showed a very fierce opposition to this project. During a popular voting, the project had definitively been rejected.

To cap it all, a short time later, the most wildly opposed to the deposit of nuclear waste canton of Nidwald, had also been among the most opposed for the continuation of the moratorium on nuclear power stations.

This mountain separates the valley of Engelberg from that of Oberrickenbach. A magnificent path enables the crossing of the hill of the foreground. This passage is called Eggeli. It enables to reach Oberrickenbach from Grafenort.

In the background, one sees the summit of Stanserhorn. It is on the bare part of this summit that cable railway arrives. Before the 1970 fire of the Stanserhorn hotel, two sections of funiculars enabled to climb easily to this top. During renovation, the second section was replaced by a cable railway. A part of the old machinery of the funicular is always visible at the top.

Go to the gallery of the picture

The pictures may be copied at one's discretion as long as they are used for non-commercial purposes. Should they be exhibited in some way, please mention the author (Charles Lehmann) and the website.

Last update: June 16th, 2019

Home Seite Pages en Français    
English pages 
| Hauptseite | Tourenprogramm | Bildergalerien | Tourenorganisation| News| Links | Kontakt |

Zum Bild
Vorheriges<<  >>Nächstes

Eggeli und Wellenberg

Eggeli und Wellenberg

Der Hügel der sich in der Mitte des Bildes befindet, hat vor einiger Zeit viel von sich reden lassen.

Tatsächlich hätten in den Mergel dieses Berges die schwach radioaktiven Abfälle der Schweizer Atomkraftwerke eingelagert werden sollen. Die örtliche Bevölkerung hatte eine sehr starke Opposition zu diesem Projekt gezeigt. Während einer Volksabstimmung war das Projekt endgültig abgelehnt worden.

Der Höhepunkt der Ironie ist, dass der Kanton Nidwalden, der am heftigsten gegen die Lagerung Atommülls gegen gestanden war, wenige Zeit später, auch unter denen war, die am meisten sich wehrten gegen die Verlängerung des Atomkraftwerks-Moratorium.

Dieser Berg trennt das Tal von Engelberg von demjenigen von Oberrickenbach. Ein grossartiger Pfad erlaubt das Überschreiten des Hügels des Vordergrunds. Dieser Durchgang heisst Eggeli. Er erlaubt, Oberrickenbach von Grafenort aus zu erreichen.

Im Hintergrund sieht man der Gipfel des Stanserhorns. Es ist auf dem kahlen Teil dieses Gipfels, dass die Seilbahn ankommt. Vor dem Brand des Hotels Stanserhorn von 1970, konnte man mittels zwei Standseilbahn Strecken auf diesen Gipfel leicht aufsteigen. Während der Sanierung wurde der Zweite Teil durch eine Seilbahn ersetzt. Einen Bestandteil der ehemaligen Maschinen der Standseilbahn ist auf dem Gipfel zu sehen.

Zur Galerie des Bildes

Die Bilder können beliebig kopiert werden solange sie nicht zu kommerziellen zwecken dienen. Falls sie vorgezeigt werden, bitte der Autor (Charles Lehmann) und die Website erwähnen.

Last update: June 16th, 2019